Snarkfinance Reader Survey and Feedback

Survey

I have some good news and some bad news, loyal Snarkfinance readers.  The good news is that a recent blood test has proved I am not related to my fiance, and I can tell you that it feels great to know I haven’t been banging my sister or cousin for six years.  The bad news is that Snarkfinance is going “dark” for the rest of August, and all of September (meaning a limited number of articles will be available to read, but no new articles will be posted).  I will tell you why: 1) I own an apartment building in the Boston area that is going to require a lot of attention as a multitude of projects kick off in relation to it, 2) I have another potential real estate deal in the pipeline in NH that, should it not fall apart, will move quickly and require a lot of hustle to close, 3) I am getting married (to a woman!), 4) I have nearly no idea what the hell I am doing with Snarkfinance anymore.  Let me explain excuse number four a little more.

Something is Off

Snarkfinance has been around for about a year now, and although I have seen its Alexa rating drop from 4 million to 236 thousand with no SEO work and relatively little promotion, I am unsatisfied with the progress.  The goal of this site is to provide actionable information on personal finance topics as well as satirical commentary on the same as along with pop cultural topics.  The site and its meaning–behind the sometimes silly or offensive jokes– is concerned with how we live our lives and if our current culture is making us happier or less so.  I think the tone and approach to topics is unique in the personal finance blog space; literally I have not come across one PF site with this approach.  Something is off though; my traffic in my opinion sucks (around 150 views per day).  Comments are rare compared to other sites.  SEO and Twitter: slow going at best.   I need to adjust course, and in order to do that I need your help.

Tell Me Your Opinion

I have created a survey to gather feedback on how Snarkfinance is doing so far.  It is short, easy to fill in and only takes a minute or two.  Please share your thoughts:

Click to Take Survey

Free time in the month of September will be spend learning how to work social media more effectively, learning SEO and online site marketing, converting to a WordPress.org self-hosted site, and gearing up a slew of guest postings to get the word out regarding the re-launched Snarkfinance.

Thank you for your readership and feedback.  Know that it is deeply appreciated.  If you feel you want to leave any feedback not already on the survey, please feel free to fire away in the comments below.

I will note that I will still be keeping my staff writing position at Club Thrifty, so expect to see two posts in September from yours truly.

 

-Mitchell

10 responses to “Snarkfinance Reader Survey and Feedback

  1. I love your blog… You have a unique a refreshing style. And I do really understand your slight disappointment… Too much information all around and even your more loyal followers have no time to comment or provide feedback… That’s not fair, I know! But I have a similar problem and that’s what I tell myself 🙂 I hope to read you again after your break and, of course… congratulations on your wedding! 🙂

  2. Always good to find out that your wife isn’t in fact related to you. That could have been a big let down. I mean do you continue on with the wedding if she is your cousin? You’ve already spent all that money for the wedding and whatnot. Seriously though, congrats on the wedding and I hope you’ll be back in the blogosphere ahead of your anticipated schedule.

  3. I can’t believe there are states out there that still require blood tests before marriage! My fiancee and I just applied for our marriage license here in NY as we’re getting married in two weeks. Good luck with all your endeavors!

  4. Mitchell I really enjoy the site and hope that things change course for you. I think sometimes we my measure things a little wrong. Honestly some of the biggest site tend to have high Alexa. Also remember a lot of the people who may be doing better might be just marketing better. Not to say there content is better but they are everywhere you look and always out. If you don’t have that kind of time it almost appears you are blogging in the dark for months or years before you get noticed. I really enjoy your writing and boy its great to hear you not baning your sister. Good luck with your real estate projects and the wedding!

Leave a comment, Dude!

